(left to proper: stills from “Freda,” and “You Can At all times Come House”

With one other yr within the books, Miami Movie Competition is thrilled to announce the total listing of award winners from our thirty ninth version!

$25,000 Knight MARIMBAS Award: Freda, directed by Géssica Généus

Making its US premiere, the Haiti-set Freda directed by Géssica Généus, earned the Competition’s high jury prize, the $25,000 Knight MARIMBAS Award, supported by the John S. and James L. Knight Basis, a world competitors for brand new narrative function movies that greatest exemplify richness and resonance for cinema’s future.

$55,000 Knight Made in MIA Movie Award – “You Can At all times Come House,” directed by Juan Luis Matos

The $55,000 Knight Made in MIA Movie Award, supported by the Knight Basis, is given to three movies which have a considerable portion of their content material in South Florida and that greatest make the most of their story and theme for common resonance.

First prize ($30,000): “You Can At all times Come House,” directed by Juan Luis Matos

Second prize ($15,000): “In Magnificence It Is Unfinished,” directed by Greko Sklavounos

Third prize ($10,000): “Un Pequeño Corte,” directed by Marianna Serrano

Viewers Characteristic Movie Award – Parsley (Perejil), directed by José María Cabral

Offered to the filmmaker(s) of the Competition viewers’s alternative of greatest non-documentary function of all the Official Choice.

First runner-up: Mediterraneo: The Regulation of the Sea, directed by Marcel Barrena

Second runner-up: The Misplaced Youngsters of Jarabacoa (File de Ausencias), directed by Rolando Díaz

Documentary Achievement Award – South Seashore Shark Membership: Legends and Lore of the South Florida Shark Hunters, directed by Robert Requejo Ramos

Offered to the filmmaker(s) of the Competition viewers’s alternative of documentary of all the Official Choice.

First runner-up: Strangers to Peace, directed by Laura Angel Rengifo and Noah DeBonis

Second runner-up: Preserve the Cameras Rolling: The Pedro Zamora Manner, directed by William T. Horner and Stacey Woelfel

$10,000 Jordan Ressler First Characteristic Award – You Resemble Me, directed by Dina Amer

This particular award acknowledges and helps artists early of their careers as skilled filmmakers. It was created by the South Florida household of Jordan Alexander Ressler, an aspiring screenwriter and Cornell College movie research graduate who, throughout his transient leisure profession, held manufacturing positions with the Tony award-winning Broadway hits 700 Sundays with Billy Crystal and Jersey Boys.

$10,000 Ibero-American Characteristic Movie Award – Carajita

Sponsored by WarnerMedia, this prize is given to the most effective U.S. Hispanic or Ibero-American narrative function movie.

Rene Rodriguez Movie Writers Award – One Second, directed by Zhang Yimou

The Rene Rodriguez Movie Writers Award, named for Miami Herald author Rene Rodriguez. The award introduced to the filmmaker of 1 movie of any style and any size voted chosen by accredited movie critics protecting the Competition.

Alacran Music in Movie Award – Felipe Pérez Santiago, composer of rating for Amalgama

10,000 WarnerMedia OneFifty Latino Brief Movie Award – “Hector’s Lady (La mujer de Héctor),” directed by Ricardo Varona

The $10,000 WarnerMedia OneFifty Latino Brief Movie Award, sponsored by WarnerMedia, bestows $5,000 upon the winner and $1,250 every to 4 runners-up.

Runner-up ($1,250): “Chilly & Milly,” directed by William David Caballero

Runner-up ($1,250): “It’s Not Her (No Es Ella),” directed by Samuel Gonzales

Runner-up ($1,250): “For Some Horses (Por unos caballos),” directed by Tomás Alzamora

Runner-up ($1,250): “The 12 months of the Radio (El Año del Radio),” directed by Samuel Kishi Leopo

$5,000 Miami Worldwide Brief Movie – “Homicide Tongue,” directed by Ali Sohail Jaura

Miami Worldwide Brief Movie Award is given to a jury-selected brief movie (30 min or much less) of any style from anyplace on this planet.

The $500 College of Miami Brief Documentary Movie Award – “The Originals,” directed by Cristina Costantini and Alfie Koetter

This award is sponsored by the College of Miami Faculty of Communications and judged by school members.

Viewers Brief Movie Award – “Cariño,” directed by Fernanda Lamuño

Offered to the filmmaker(s) of the Competition viewers’s alternative of greatest non-documentary brief (30 min or much less) of all the Official Choice.

First runner-up: “Un Pequeño Corte,” directed by Mariana Serrano

Second runner-up “Madame Pipi,” directed by Rachelle Salnave

Finest Trailer Award – Lorenz Metz, who served as trailer editor for his movie Soul of a Beast

This award is set by a choose members of the Competition’s Program Committee.

$1,000 Florida Cinemaslam Pupil Movie Award – “The Reality of a Thousand Nights,” directed by Chris Molina

CinemaSlam is Miami Movie Competition’s annual Florida movie college competitors. One $1,000 grand prize, together with different honors and recognitions, is set by earlier Cinemaslam-winning alumni.

Finest Writing: “Offside,” directed by Emiliano Gioffre

Finest Actor: “Offside,” directed by Emiliano Gioffre

Finest Actress: “One Name Away,” directed by Camilia Marcano

Finest Cinematography: “Minimize Brief,” directed by Charlie Andelman

Finest Technical Achievement: “Symfaunic,” directed by Erin Bergin and Darby Kate Snyder


Learn extra in regards to the winners right here.